The governing body of the Montana Logging Association is the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors supervises, controls and directs the affairs of the Association and its committees and publications. The Board also determines MLA policies, pursues its objectives, and supervises the disbursement of its funds. The Board may adopt rules and regulations for the conduct of its business and may delegate its authority and responsibility to the Executive Committee.


The Board of Directors consists of the Executive Committee and three regular members from each chapter of the Association. Also, past Presidents of the Association are designated as "at-large" members of the Board of Directors.

2019-2021 Chapter Directors

Clark Fork Chapter

Kevin Donally, Superior

Shawn Heyer, Superior

Kevin Vaught, Thompson Falls


Deer Lodge Chapter

Roy Lorengo, Anaconda

Kevin Kanduch, Philipsburg

Forest Wehr, DeerLodge


Flathead Chapter

TC Decker, Kalispell

Shelby George, Somers

Doug Yeager, West Glacier

Headwaters Chapter

Tyler Myrstol, Clyde Park

Clint Schwalm, Bozeman

Doug Mote, Helena

Shawn Nicholls, Moore


Kootenai Chapter

Tom Vranizan, Troy

Wayne Finch, Eureka 

Jerry Okonski, Libby

Missoula Chapter

Bruce Johnson, Missoula

Russ Reed, Florence

Ben Smith, Missoula

The Executive Committee may act in place of the Board of Directors between Board meetings on all matters, except those specifically reserved to the Board by our bylaws. Actions of the Executive Committee are reported to the Board at each ensuing Board meeting.

The Executive Committee consists of seven regular members, including the immediate past President, the President, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer, two members elected by the Board of Directors, and one member appointed by the President.



President,  Floyd Quiram, Whitefish

Vice President, Mike Newton, Kalispell

Secretary/Treasurer, Karl Kanduch, Philipsburg

Bruce Johnson, Missoula


Scott Norquist, Livingston


James Stupack, Kalispell


Immediate Past President, Dave Sheets,Jr., Big Timber

Bill Hanley    76/78 (deceased)


Bill Cuddy   1978/08 (deceased)


Clyde Smith   1980/85 (deceased)


Joe Rickett   1985/87 (deceased)


Bill Free   1987/89 (deceased)


*Bill Crismore   1989/91, Libby


*Sherm Anderson   1991/93,  Deer Lodge


Lyle Brist   1993/95, Happys Inn


Bart Cooper    1995/97, Boulder

*Paul Tisher  1997-99, Libby


*Brent Anderson     1999/01, Lincoln


*Rick Smith    2001/03, Kalispell


*Charlie Newton    2003/05, Eureka


*Rich Tatarka   2005/07, Bozeman


*Ken Swanstrom   2007/2009, Kalispell

* Dave Cheff   2009/2011, Columbia Falls

* Rex Anderson   2011/2013, Deer Lodge

* Kevin St.Onge   2013/2015, Kalispell

* Dyrk Krueger    2015/2017, Corvallis


*Active past presidents

Past Presidents

Contact Us

Montana Logging Association

2224 Montana Hwy. 35

PO Box 1716, 

Kalispell, MT 59901

CALL 406-752-3168

FAX   406-756-9574 

Connect with us
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon